Let’s Win This

gay couple 2

“We don’t have to engage in grand, heroic actions to participate in the process of change. Small acts transform the world.”

My dear family & friends-

I spent the first twenty years of my life berating myself over whether I should keep quiet about my sexual orientation.  What would people think?  Would I be ridiculed?  Who would joke about me when I wasn’t around?  Who would be disappointed?  Would my life be worse?

Guess what happened?  A lot changed.  And I’ve never been happier.

The people that matter most in my life didn’t just support me: You became my biggest defenders.  There is nothing so sweet as having others standing at your side, ready to challenge those trying to bring you down or treat you unfairly.  Every day I am humbled by those who stand up for love, fairness, and equality–even when it isn’t popular.  I know you don’t have to do it.  But you do.   And it means the world to me.

No good deed goes unpunished.  If you have any gas left in the tank, I would be so grateful if you could take one last step to finally end this battle in Illinois and ensure our state treats everyone the same, including people like me.  As you might have heard, in early January legislators in Springfield will vote on a bill that would allow same sex couples to solidify their loving relationship by way of a marriage. gay couple 3

The chief sponsor of the bill explains: “It’s very straightforward.  We treat all couples with the same respect and dignity in the eyes of the law and we protect the rights of religious institutions to either consecrate or not consecrate marriages within their faith as they see fit. It’s very important that government not involve itself in religion on either side of the issue.”

Here’s the reality: Right now, internal counts of those legislators show that we may not have the votes.  It is very close, but some representatives are unsure.  They will make up their mind based on how their constituents voice their opinion.

That is why I am urging you to take 5 minutes to draft a very simple email and send it to your State Representative and State Senator, asking them to treat all Illinois residents fairly by supporting marriage equality.

It does not have to be long or time-consuming.  But by typing out a few sentences and hitting the send button, you may be the tipping point.  All you need to include is this:

kyle&paul

1) Share you name, that you are a voter in Illinois, and indicate where you live.  It makes a big difference if the lawmaker knows that you are a constituent in their own district.  Say if there are multiple voters in your household (or, better yet, have each one send an email).

2) Urge them to vote in favor of marriage equality.  You can say this in one sentence or fifty.

That’s it.  More than at any other time, that simple act can make a real difference.  This is not like casting a vote for President when you know what the outcome will be in Illinois.  It is VERY close, and every single email counts tremendously. Lesbian couple

It would be great if you could do this right now…as you are reading this.  Because if you don’t do it now, you might forget.  Life is hectic.  Below you will find a list of legislators and email addresses.

Please send a message now explaining where you stand.

Forever grateful-

Paul

——————————————————————————————————

Not sure who your legislators are?  Go to this site, type in your address, and get their names, then come back here to get their email from the list below….

1) Step #1: FIND YOUR STATE LEGISLATORS: HERE (Remember to look for your STATE Representative and STATE Senator)

2) Step #2: Find their names below (alphabetical) and send them a quick email.  You should send one to your State Rep. AND one to your State Senator.  If two email addresses are listed for that person, send them to both addresses.

NAME                          EMAIL #1                                            EMAIL #2

Edward J. Acevedo eacevedoed@ilga.gov Sylvia_idrovo@sbcglobal.net
Pamela Althoff pamela@pamelaalthoff.net palthoff@mc.net
Luis Arroyo RepDistrict3@gmail.com
Jason Barickman  jason@jasonbarickman.org
Mark H. Beaubien, Jr. strepmbeaubien@sbcglobal.net
Daniel V. Beiser dvbeiser@sbcglobal.net
Patricia R. “Patti” Bellock rep@pbellock.com
Maria Antonia (Toni) Berrios repberrios39@gmail.com rep_berrios@yahoo.com
Daniel K. Biss repbiss@gmail.com
Tim Bivins senatorbivins@grics.net
Larry K. Bomke senatorbomke@yahoo.com
Mike Bost rep.bost@hotmail.com mikebost@midwestmail.com
John E. Bradley repjohnbradley@mychoice.net
Bill Brady billbrady@senatorbillbrady.com
Dan Brady dan@rep-danbrady.com
Rich Brauer Brauerr@housegopmail.state.il.us
Adam M. Brown abrown@decaturil.gov
Daniel J. Burke burkedj2@ilga.gov illhouse@aol.com
Kelly M. Burke kelly@kellyburke2010.com
William D. ‘Will” Burns repwillburns@att.net
J. Bradley Burzynski senatorbrad@frontier.com senatorbrad@verizon.net
John Cavaletto john@johncavaletto.com
Linda Chapa-LaVia chapa-laviali@ilga.gov lindachapalavia@aol.com
James F. Clayborne, Jr. jfc87@norcom2000.com
Franco Coladipietro franco@il45.com
Sandy Cole representativesandycole@comcast.net
Jacqueline “Jacqui” Y. Collins jcollins@senatedem.ilga.gov
Annazette R. Collins collinsar@ilga.gov annazettec@sbcglobal.net
Marlow H. Colvin repcolvin@sbcglobal.net
Michael G. Connelly Repconnelly48@gmail.com
Fred Crespo fred@fredcrespo.com
Tom Cross tom@tomcross.com
M. Maggie Crotty jdowis@senatedem.ilga.gov
John J. Cullerton john@senatorcullerton.com
Shane Cultra Shanecultra105@yahoo.com
Bill Cunningham  staterepbillcunningham@gmail.com
Barbara Flynn Currie repcurrie@sbcglobal.net bfc15@aol.com
John D’Amico johnd@ilga.gov
Monique D. Davis davismd@ilga.gov Mdavis2147@yahoo.com
William “Will” Davis williamd@ilga.gov repwilldavis@sbcglobal.net
Anthony DeLuca repdeluca@sbcglobal.net
William Delgado repdelgado@aol.com
Kirk W. Dillard senator@kdillard.com
Dan Duffy Dan@SenatorDuffy.com
Lisa M. Dugan lisadugan@sbcglobal.net
Kenneth Dunkin kendunkin@msn.com
Jim Durkin jimd@ilga.gov kanadyF@housegopmail.state.il.us
Roger L. Eddy roger@peopleforeddy.com Reddyunit1@aol.com
Keith Farnham krfarnham@gmail.com
Sara Feigenholtz sara@staterepsara.com staterep12@aol.com
Mary E. Flowers flowersme@ilga.gov mflowers@hds.ilga.gov
Gary Forby senatorforby@yahoo.com
LaShawn Ford lkf@ilga.gov repford@lashawnford.com
Mike Fortner Mike.fortner@sbcglobal.net
Jack D. Franks jack@jackfranks.org
Michael W. Frerichs mfrerichs@senatedem.ilga.gov
Robyn Gabel robyn@robyngabel.com
Susan Garrett ilsenate29@sbcglobal.net
Esther Golar esthergolar@sbcglobal.net
Careen Gordon staterepgordon@sbcglobal.net
Jehan Gordon repjehangordon@gmail.com
William R. “Bill” Haine whaine@cbnstl.com
Norine K. Hammond  rephammond@macomb.com
Don Harmon dharmon@senatedem.ilga.gov
Greg Harris greg@gregharris.org
David Harris harrisforstaterep@yahoo.com
Kay Hatcher info@kayhatcher.us vote4kay@att.net
Chad D Hays  chad@chaddhays.com
Rickey R. Hendon hendon@senatedem.ilga.gov
Elizabeth Hernandez repehernandez@yahoo.com hernandezl@ilga.gov
Thomas “Tom” Holbrook holbrookta@ilga.gov Thomas.holbrook@att.net
Linda Holmes senatorholmes42@sbcglobal.net
Constance A.”Connie” Howard howardca@ilga.gov staterep-constance-a-howard@comcast.net
Mattie Hunter senatorhunter03@sbcglobal.net
Toi W Hutchinson thutchinson@senatedem.ilga.gov
Eddie Lee Jackson Sr. bbsty2010@gmail.com
Mike Jacobs senatorjacobs@sbcglobal.net
Naomi D. Jakobsson naomi@naomijakobsson.com
Charles E. “Chuck” Jefferson staterepchuck67@aol.com
Thomas Johnson SenatorTomJohnson@gmail.com 
Emil Jones, III ejones3@senatedem.ilga.gov
John O Jones johnojones@sbcglobal.net
Thaddeus Jones tjones@calumetcity.org
Dwight Kay info@dwightkay.com
David Koehler senatorkoehler@grics.net
Renee Kosel rkosel@ilga.gov
Dan Kotowski dan@senatorkotowski.com
Louis I. Lang langli@ilga.gov reploulang@aol.com
Chris Lauzen admin@lauzen.com
David R. Leitch davidleitch@ameritech.net
Kimberly A. Lightford statesenatorlightford@comcast.net
Camille Lilly statereplilly@yahoo.com
Terry Link senator@link30.org
David Luechtefeld sendavel@midwest.net
Joseph M. Lyons lyonsjm@ilga.gov jsmith@hds.ilga.gov
Michael J. Madigan mmadigan@hds.ilga.gov
Edward D. Maloney ed@edmaloney.com
Iris Y. Martinez ilsenate20@sbcglobal.net
Sidney H. Mathias repmathias@hotmail.com SIDNEYMATH@msn.com
Frank J. Mautino patti76th@ivnet.com
Karen May karen@repkarenmay.org karenmay58@aol.com
Rita Mayfield ritamayfield60@gmail.com
Emily McAsey RepEmily@gmail.com
Michael P. McAuliffe mmcauliffe20@yahoo.com
William “Sam” McCann SenatorSam@frontier.com 
Kyle McCarter mccarter51@att.net senatormccarter51@att.net
Kevin A. McCarthy kevmac37@sbcglobal.net
Jack McGuire jmcguire86@sbcglobal.net Jmcguire86@sbcglobal.com
James T. Meeks senmeeks@sbcglobal.net
Deborah L. Mell deb@debmell.org dmel@hds.ilga.gov
Susana Mendoza staterepmendoza@gmail.com
John Millner johnjmillner@aol.com
Jerry L. Mitchell repjmitchell@comcast.net
Bill Mitchell repmitchell@earthlink.net
Thomas R. “Tom” Morrison  Repmorrison54@gmail.com
Richard Morthland rich@richmorthland.com
Rosemary Mulligan repmulligan@usa.net
John G. Mulroe info@mulroeforsenate.com
Matt Murphy senatormattmurphy@gmail.com
Michelle Mussman michelle@votemichelle.org
Antonio “Tony” Mu√±oz amunoz@senatedem.ilga.gov
Elaine Nekritz enekritz@repnekritz.org
Michael Noland richj@noland.org
Chris Nybo chris@chrisnybo.com
Jo Ann Osmond reposmond@aol.com osmondjoann@aol.com
Harry Osterman hjo17@aol.com
Carole Pankau carole@pankau.org
Brandon W. Phelps bphelps@yourclearwave.com
Sandra M. Pihos sandrapihos42@gmail.com community@sandrapihos.com
Raymond Poe poe@ilga.gov poer@housegopmail.state.il.us
Robert Pritchard bob@pritchardstaterep.com
Christine Radogno cradogno@sbcglobal.net
Harry R. Ramey,Jr. staterepramey55@aol.com
Kwame Raoul raoulstaff@gmail.com
Dennis Reboletti dennisreboletti@sbcglobal.net dennisreboletti@aol.com
David B. Reis david@davidreis.org
Dan Reitz repreitz@egyptian.net
Sue Rezin suerezin@gmail.com
Dale A. Righter drighter@consolidated.net
Al Riley rep.riley38@sbcglobal.net rep.riley@sbcglobal.net
Dale E. Risinger senatorrisinger@yahoo.com
Robert “Bob” Rita robertbobrita@aol.com
Chapin Rose ls@chapinrose.net chapin@chapinrose.com
Wayne Arthur Rosenthal  waynerosenthal@consolidated.net
Pam Roth moffitt@grics.net
Jim Sacia JimSacia@aeroinc.net
Ronald L. Sandack rsandack@downers.us
Martin A. Sandoval msandoval@senatedem.ilga.gov
Angelo “Skip” Saviano skip@skipsaviano.com
Suzi Schmidt suzi@suzischmidt.com
Timothy L. Schmitz info@timschmitz.org ilrep49@sbcglobal.net
Jeffrey M. Schoenberg senator@jschoenberg.org
Darlene J. Senger sengerstaterep@gmail.com
Carol Sente repsente@gmail.com
Ira I. Silverstein isilverstein@senatedem.ilga.gov
Keith P. Sommer sommer@mtco.com
Joe Sosnowski joesosnowski@gmail.com Joe.Sosnowski@rockfordil.gov
Cynthia Soto csoto@ilga.gov maria.zarate08@gmail.com
Heather Steans hsteans@senatedem.ilga.gov
Ron Stephens ron@repstephens.com
John M. Sullivan senjohn@adams.net
Ed Sullivan, Jr. ILhouse51@sbcglobal.net
Dave Syverson info@senatordavesyverson.com
Andre Thapedi rep32district@gmail.com thapedi@sbcglobal.net
Jil Tracy jiltracy@jiltracy.com
Donne E. Trotter senatortrotter@yahoo.com
Michael W. Tryon Mike@miketryon.com
Arthur L. Turner turneral@ilga.gov inezc@reparthurturner.com
Michael D. Unes  repunes@gmail.com
Patrick Verschoore pverschoore@qconline.com
Louis S. Viverito lviverito@senatedem.ilga.gov
Jim Watson jimwatson@localnetco.com
Arthur J. ( A.J.) Wilhelmi senatorajwilhelmi@sbcglobal.net
Ann M. Williams ann@repanwilliams.com
Dave Winters repwinters@aol.com
Karen A. Yarbrough kyarbrough@ilga.gov karenyarbrough@ameritech.net
Michael Zalewski michaelz@ilga.gov
Advertisements

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s